Student Awards



The annual scholar awards honor a select number of students from member departments, recommended by department faculty, whose academic and leadership records are distinctive. The awards are intended to recognize and promote academic excellence, to further the professional competence and dedication of academically accomplished students, and to promote kinesiology and its related fields.


AKA sponsors awards in four categories: Undergraduate Scholar, Master's Scholar, Doctoral Scholar, and the Graduate Student Writing. Commencing in 2021, winners will be selected in those categories based on department institutional membership. Therefore, there will be three Undergraduate winners, two Master’s winners, one Doctoral winner, and one Writing winner. Specific criteria for the awards are found on the online nomination form, as are the nomination submission requirements. Nominees for the 2021 scholar awards should be expected to graduate in the 2021 calendar year, and nominees for the Graduate Student Writing Award must have published their manuscripts in 2020. For each award category, each member institution can nominate one individual as their local award recipient, and those recipients will receive a certificate of recognition and appear on the AKA website.  All local recipients will then be nominees for the national awards in each category.

The AKA Student Awards Committee will review the nominations and select the national award winners. The national award recipients will receive a $250 Human Kinetics gift certificate in addition to a national certificate of recognition. National award winners will also be noted on the AKA website, Kinesiology Today, and AKA Social media channels. Nominations are due by midnight on February 28, 2021.


There is one online nomination form for department chairs to use for the four award categories. Department chairs submitting for each category will need to complete the form four times, one for each nominee. Nomination forms must be submitted no later than the deadline listed on the form. Questions about completing the form should be directed to Mi-Sook Kim, Chair of the AKA Student Awards Committee (


We invite you to view the video which provides an overview of the AKA Student Scholar Awards changes commencing in 2021.


Note: If you experience any problems using the nomination form linked above, please contact the Business Office.

Past Recipients of AKA Student Awards

2020-2021 Student Award Recipients

2019-2020 Student Award Recipients

2018-2019 Student Award Recipients