AKA Committees

Membership Committee – responsible for membership recruitment and renewal, and development of recruitment and promotional materials.

Dan Schmidt, Chair, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh (2022)
Thomas Raedeke, East Carolina University (2022)
Tim Brusseau, University of Utah (2023)
Sara Michalisyzn, Youngstown State University (2023)
Megan Frost, Michigan Technological University (2024)
Tom George, University of Michigan (2024)
Gary Heise, University of Northern Colorado (2024)
Lisa Hicks, University of Indianapolis (2024)
Tom Templin, AKA Executive Director (Liaison)
Kim Scott, Business Office


Communication and Marketing Committee – responsible for the oversight of website, membership communication including affiliate members and development and support of strategies to enhance communication across the discipline.

Paul Carpenter, California State University-East Bay (Chair, 2023)
Daniel Burt, Texas A&M University-Kingsville (2022)
Amy Woods, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2022)
David Bellar, University of North Carolina, Charlotte (2023)
Donna Pastore, Ohio State University (2023)
Melissa Bopp, Pennsylvania State University (2024)
Lanie Dornier, Tulane University (Liaison)
Penny McCullagh, KT Editor

Publications Committee – oversees Kinesiology Today , occasional white papers, position statements and reports.

Tim Gavin, Purdue University (2022)
Dan Tarara, High Point University (2022)
Mark Williams, University of Utah (2022)
Amy Woods, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2022)
Gonzalo Bravo, West Virginia University (2023)
Jenny O, California State University, East Bay (2024)
Al Smith, Michigan State University (Liaison)
Penny McCullagh, KT (Editor)


Student Awards Committee - responsible for reviewing the national scholar awards nominations in three categories from member institutions.

Mi-Sook Kim, San Francisco State University (2022)
Randall Bryner, West Virginia University (2022)
Melissa Knight-Maloney, Ft. Lewis College (2022)
Angela Smith, Berry College (2022)
Melanie Perrault, SUNY Brockport (2023)
Phillip Post, New Mexico State University (2023)
Brian Focht, Ohio State University (2023)
Peter Bodary, University of Michigan (2024)
Albert Mendoza, California State University, East Bay (2024)
Elizabeth Mullins, Springfield College (2024)
Lara Duke, Capilano University (Liaison)


Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee – promotes diversity and equity within the field of Kinesiology, particularly as it relates to underrepresented groups

Harald Barkhoff, Chair, University of Hawaii-Hilo (2022)
Emilia Zarco, Adelphi University (2022)
Danielle Wadsworth, Auburn University (2023)
Matt Mahar, San Diego State University (2023)
Steve Petruzzello, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2024)
Wendy Wheeler , Okanagan College (2024)
Jared Russell, Auburn University (Liaison)


2022 Workshop Program Planning Committee 

Jeff Fairbrother, Chair, Auburn University (2022)
Karen Francis, San Francisco State University (2023)
Lara Duke, Capilano University (2022)
Ting Liu, Texas State University (2022)