American Kinesiology Association - Home
My Information
My Cart
American Kinesiology Association - Home

American Kinesiology Association




AKA Committees


Membership Committee – responsible for membership recruitment and renewal, and development of recruitment and promotional materials.

Karen Francis, University of San Francisco (Chair, 2017)

Steve McCole, McDaniel College (2018)

Sarah Price, Florida A&M University (2019)
Ting Lui, Texas State University (2020)

Karen McConnell, Pacific Lutheran University (2020)

Gary Heise, University of Northern Colorado (2020)

Tom Templin, University of Michigan (Liaison)
Kim Scott, Business Office(Liaison)


Communication Committee – responsible for the oversight of website, members communication including affiliate members and development and support of strategies to enhance communication across the discipline.

Alan Smith, Michigan State University (Chair, 2018)

Jeff Fairbrother, University of Tennessee (2019)
Dan Schmidt, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh (2019)
Lisa Hicks, University of Indianapolis (2019)

Amy Woods, University of Illinois (2018)
Dana Brooks, Tom Templin, University of Michigan (Liaison)

Melinda Solmon, Louisiana State University (Liaison)

Publications Committee – oversees Kinesiology Today , occasional white papers, position statements and reports.


Pam Haibach, College at Brockport State University of New York (Chair, 2019)

James Hannon, University of West Virginia (2018)
Rick Kreider, Texas A&M University (2018)
William Farquar, University of Delaware (2018)

Timothy Brusseau, University of Utah (2019)

Lavon Williams, Guilford College (2020)

Jayne Jenkins, University of Wyoming(Liaison)


Awards Committee - responsible for reviewing the national scholar awards nominations in three categories from member institutions.


Christopher Hearon, Texas A&M University - Kingsville (Chair, 2019)

Karen Meaney, Texas State University (2019)
Lanie Dornier, Louisiana Tech University (2018)
Kristian O’Connor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (2018)
Catrine Tudor-Locke, University of Massachusetts (2019)

Lara Duke, Douglas College (2020)

Joe Pujol, Southeast Missouri State University (2020)

Amelia Lee, Executive Director (Liaison)

Diversity Committee – promotes diversity and equity within the field of Kinesiology, particularly as it relates to underrepresented groups


Rafael Bahamonde, IUPUI (Chair, 2018)

Sam Hodge, Ohio State University (2018)

Jared Russell, Auburn University (2019)
Richard Williams, Albany State University (2018)

Emilia Zarco, Adelphi University (2019)

Mary Rudisill, Auburn University (Liaison)


Future Directions Committee- responsible for long range planning, developing and monitoring the implementation of the strategic plan, and the recommendation of future workshop themes, projects and new initiatives for consideration by the Executive Committee.


Paul Carpenter, California State University, East Bay (Chair, 2018)

Sandra Shultz, University of North Carolina, Greensboro (2017)
Nancy Williams, Penn State University (2018)

John Bartholomew, University of Texas (2019)

Derek Smith, University of Wyoming

Jason Carter, Michigan Technological University (Liaison)

Amelia Lee, Executive Director (Liaison)



CIP (Ad Hoc) Committee - The Classification of Instructional Programs (CIP) was created by the US Department of Education to provide a taxonomic scheme that supports accurate tracking and reporting of fields of study and program completion activity in education. Currently, CIP does not accurately track and report the academic discipline of kinesiology. Kinesiology programs are embedded in multiple categories within the classification systems of the CIP system. This is a result of the rapid growth and evolution of our academic discipline over the years.

Responsible for investigating the current CIP classification for Kinesiology and pursuing strategies within the CIP classification system to promote commonalities and unity within the field.


Melanie Hart, Texas Tech University (Chair)

Michael Delp, Florida State University

Tim Gavin, Purdue University
T. Gilmour Reeve, Louisiana State University
John Dunn, Western Michigan University

Contact Us     Support     Privacy     Terms and Conditions     Copyright 2015