My Information


My Cart

AKA Logo link to Home Page
Home Page


The annual scholar awards honor a select number of students from member departments, recommended by department faculty, whose academic and leadership records are distinctive. The awards are intended to recognize and promote academic excellence, to further the professional competence and dedication of academically accomplished students and to promote kinesiology and its related fields.

In addition to the current approach to focusing attention on member departments’ most exceptional students, beginning in 2014 nominations will be accepted for the four new awards: a National Undergraduate Scholar Award, a National Master’s Scholar Award, a National Doctoral Scholar Award, and a National Graduate Writing Award. One winner will be chosen by the AKA awards committee for each category. Depending on the student enrollment in the department, institutions can still submit one or more candidates for the program-based awards that have been available since 2010. However, only one nominee can be submitted for each of the National Awards. Along with the nomination form, a one-page vita or a one-page biography of the student is required for the National Awards. Nominations are due April 1, 2014, and forms must be signed by the chair of the member department. To be eligible for the National Awards, students must graduate in the current academic year (i.e., December, May, or August) that the nomination is submitted. The AKA awards committee will select the four award winners, and their biographies will be published on the website. National award recipients will receive a $250 gift certificate for Human Kinetics products.

Descriptions of the purpose and selection criteria for the National Awards can be found on the nomination forms found for each category below. All nomination forms should be sent to Amy Rose at Human Kinetics. AmyR@hkusa.com.

Annual Winners in the three categories and submission details are listed here:

AKA National Scholars

Undergraduate Scholar Award Winners

Graduate Scholar Award Winners

Writing Award Winners

Home   |   Join AKA   |   Contact Us  |   Privacy Policy  |   Terms and Conditions   |   Copyright 2014

AKA Facebook page